Meaning of Flag of Venezuela

What is the Flag of Venezuela:

The flag of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela is the national insignia of Venezuela. Along with the national anthem and the shield, it is one of the official patriotic symbols of this country. The flag is the most representative symbol at the international level.

The Venezuelan flag is made up of three horizontal stripes of the same size and different colors. From top to bottom: yellow, blue and red. In the center of the blue stripe, eight five-pointed stars are arranged in the shape of a semi-arch. In the upper left corner, in the yellow strip, the country's coat of arms is located on the flag of official use (not in the one for civilian use). The flag has a width to length ratio of 2 to 3.

The flag of Venezuela is inspired by the one adopted by the Congress of the Republic in 1811 as the national flag and symbol of independence.

It was brought by Francisco de Miranda and raised on Venezuelan soil for the first time on August 3, 1806. Since 2006, August 3 has been celebrated as flag day. Previously, it celebrated March 12, which was the day it was hoisted for the first time in the English brig Leander, where Mirada was traveling on a military expedition to free Venezuela.

From the original brought by Miranda to the current flag, the Venezuelan flag has undergone multiple alterations in its appearance. The current model we are referring to has existed since 2006, when the eighth star was added and modifications were made to the national emblem.

Meaning of the colors

The colors of the Venezuelan flag have tended to be interpreted as follows.

Yellow as a symbol of the wealth of the nation, the tropical sun, sovereignty, harmony and justice.

Blue symbolizes the seas, rivers and lakes of the country, as well as the sky.

Red is the symbol of the blood shed by the heroes of the country to conquer freedom. It is also interpreted as love, power, country, strength and progress.

Meaning of the stars

Each of the eight stars symbolize the eight provinces that made up the Venezuelan territory that would become independent from Spain, namely: Caracas, Cumaná, Barcelona, ​​Barinas, Margarita, Mérida, Guayana and Trujillo.

Previously there were only seven stars, because initially, the Act of the Declaration of Independence of Venezuela, dated July 5, 1811, had been signed by only seven of the provinces, to which the province would later be incorporated. of Guyana, being this the eighth star of the flag.

The eighth star

The eighth star of the Venezuelan flag corresponds to the province of Guayana, which would only later join the other independent provinces. It is based on a decree of November 20, 1817, and reflects an express wish of Simón Bolívar himself to include his star on the flag. As of March 9, 2006, the eighth star was added to the flag.

Tags:  General Sayings And Proverbs Technology-E-Innovation