Meaning of Aquatic Food Chain

What is Aquatic Food Chain:

The aquatic food chain is the food energy transfer chain that aquatic beings depend on for their survival.

Food chains, also called trophic chains, are made up of 3 levels in the ecosystem: producers, consumers (primary, secondary, or tertiary), and decomposers.

See also Food chain.

The aquatic food chain is a food sequence where those that feed on a previous link serve as food for the consumers of the next link. The beginning of the food chains arise from plants or autotrophic organisms, that is, those that have the ability to make their own food.

The links in the aquatic food chain are defined as follows:

  • First link-producers: here are algae and plankton, generally called phytoplankton.
  • Second link- primary consumers: they are mostly herbivores and are composed of protozoa or protozoa, larvae of small animals, smaller crustaceans, krill (zooplankton), hydromedusae, among others.
  • Third link - secondary consumers: generally carnivores, including fish that feed on smaller fish, larger crustaceans, squid and seagulls.
  • Fourth link - tertiary consumers: essentially omnivores, this group includes the largest fish, aquatic mammals, birds, sea lions and sharks.
  • Decomposers: the bodies of tertiary consumers, as they do not have large predators, will enter the decomposition process once they have died, generating the plankton of the first link.

See also:

  • Protozoan.
  • Omnivore

These are the basic links, but a fifth link can be incorporated for quaternary consumers, where larger predators would be included.

Examples of aquatic food chains

Aquatic food chains can have two or more links like some of the examples shown below:

  • 2 links: phytoplankton → whale
  • 3 links: phytoplankton → zooplankton → hake
  • 3 links: seaweed → fish → seagull
  • 4 links: seaweed → sea snail → fish → sea lion
  • 4 links: seaweed → krill → mackerel → human
Tags:  Expressions-In-English Religion-And-Spirituality Sayings And Proverbs