Seasons of the year

What are the seasons of the year?

The seasons of the year are the four periods, of three months each, in which certain climatic conditions remain more or less stable. The four seasons are called spring, summer, fall, and winter.

The seasonal changes seen in a tree: spring, summer, fall and winter.

The seasons of the year are due to the inclination of the Earth's axis and the translational movement that the Earth makes around the Sun, which is why the solar rays affect the different regions of the planet with different intensity.

For example, in the area of ​​the equator, the sun's rays fall perpendicularly and heat more. The places where the sun's rays fall steeply are colder, as in the North Pole and South Pole.

For this reason, in the areas of the equator and the tropics, only two seasons can be noticed, which are those of drought and rain.

However, when the axis of the North Pole is tilted towards the Sun, it receives more sun and heat, while the South Pole receives less sunlight and is colder.

Seasonal variations do not occur equally at both poles. Consequently, when spring and summer are experienced in the northern hemisphere and the days are longer and hotter, in the southern hemisphere autumn and winter are experienced, and the days are shorter and colder.


Spring begins between March 20 and 21 in the northern hemisphere, and between September 22 and 24 in the southern hemisphere. It is a transition period between winter and summer.

Spring is characterized by the fact that:

  • the days begin to be longer than the nights,
  • temperatures are warmer than in winter,
  • the plants begin to bloom,
  • many of the offspring of various animals come to light.

See also Spring.


Summer begins between June 21 and 22 in the northern hemisphere, and in the southern hemisphere between December 21 and 22.

It is the vacation period for students and many families. It is generally the season of parties and celebrations. In the southern hemisphere, summer coincides with the Christmas festivities.

Among the characteristics of summer we can highlight:

  • High temperatures
  • Longer days and shorter nights.

See also Summer.


Autumn begins in the northern hemisphere between September 23 and 24, and in the southern hemisphere it begins between March 20 and 21. It is the time of transition between summer and winter.

The following characteristics of autumn are typical of this season:

  • Temperatures begin to drop.
  • The days are cooler, rainy and windy.
  • The leaves of the trees, which begin to fall, take on an orange and reddish color.

See also the meaning of Autumn.


Winter begins in the northern hemisphere between December 21 and 22, and in the southern hemisphere it begins from June 21 and 22. The Northern Hemisphere celebrates Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve, making this season a time of celebration.

Winter is characterized by having:

  • Short days and longer nights.
  • Lower temperatures
  • Snowfall can occur.
Tags:  General Religion-And-Spirituality Expressions-In-English