Meaning of Triple Alliance

What is Triple Alliance:

Triple Alliance is the name that various coalitions of three nations or states have received throughout history, articulated from common military, political and economic interests.

These coalitions include the following (in chronological order):

  • Triple Aztec Alliance, occurred in the 15th century between Tenochtitlan, Texcoco and Tlacopan.
  • Triple Alliance of 1668, between England, the Netherlands and Sweden.
  • Triple Alliance of 1717, between Great Britain, the Netherlands and France.
  • Triple Alliance of 1861 between England, France and Spain.
  • Triple Alliance of 1873 between El Salvador, Guatemala and Nicaragua. When Honduras joined, it was called the Quadruple Alliance.
  • Triple Alliance of 1882 between Germany, the Austro-Hungarian Empire and Italy.
  • Triple Alliance of 1923: first pact between Catalan, Basque and Galician nationalisms, also known as Galeusca.

The best known of all these coalitions are the Triple Alliance of 1882 between Germany, the Austro-Hungarian Empire and Italy, which played a leading role in the First World War, and the Aztec Triple Alliance.

Triple Alliance of 1882

The Triple Alliance of 1882 was formed at the initiative of the German Chancellor Otto von Bismarck, whose main objective was to isolate France.

At that time, France was demonstrating its colonialist ambition over Tunisia, which threatened the interests of Italy. This country also aspired to rise to the status of power.

The Austro-Hungarian Empire, for its part, suffered from the threat of the neighboring country, Russia, although it was eventually faced with Italy for control of Trentino.

Even so, Germany, Italy and the Austro-Hungarian Empire decided to commit themselves in the defense of their common interests. Therefore, the document will be revised repeatedly.

The first signing of the treaty took place in 1882. The last took place in 1913, the prelude to the First World War.

The Triple Alliance and the First World War

In the First World War, the Austro-Hungarian Empire was debating with Russia the dominion of the Balkans, while the Germans defended Alsace-Lorraine from France, which sought to recover this region annexed to Germany since the Franco-Prussian War.

The Autro-Hungarian Empire declared war on July 28, 1914 and, together with Germany, the Triple Alliance was invoked. However, Italy was in a delicate situation, so instead of supporting its allies, it joined the Triple Entente in 1915, which included France, England and Russia.

As the conflict became more radical, Germany and the Austro-Hungarian Empire formed new alliances with the Ottoman Empire and the Kingdom of Bulgaria.

Tags:  Technology-E-Innovation Sayings And Proverbs Science