Zodiac Meaning

What is the Zodiac:

The Zodiac, in Astronomy, is an area of ​​the sky through which the Ecliptic passes (in general terms, the curved line that the Sun apparently runs through when seen from Earth).

This area includes, in addition to the Sun and the planets, between 13 and 14 constellations. The word "Zodiac" comes from Latin zodiăcus, and this one from greek ζῳδιακός (zoon-diakos, wheel of animals). It is written with an initial capital letter as indicated by the RAE.

In Astrology, the Zodiac is divided into 12 equal parts, each part corresponding to a constellation that is identified with a sign.

Signs of the zodiac

In many parts of the world, especially in the West, the Zodiac is associated with 12 signs, based on Babylonian culture, Ancient Egypt and Greek mythology. Constellations are interpreted with the following signs:

Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces.

In 1930 the International Astronomical Union established that the constellation of Ophiuchus or Serpentarium is located in the Zodiac zone. However, in traditional astrology based on Babylonian culture it is not usually considered as a zodiac sign.

The zodiac and horoscope

In Astrology, the horoscope is a traditional method of predicting the future and the character of a person based on the sign of the Zodiac attributed by the date of birth. In western popular culture, it is common to find television programs and sections of newspapers and magazines dedicated to talking about the horoscope and the zodiac signs. Despite the fact that the interpretation of the zodiac signs is followed by many people, there is no scientific basis.

The Zodiac according to Chinese culture

In the Chinese Zodiac, the 12 constellations refer to 12 animals. Each year corresponds to a sign. These signs are: the Rat, the Ox, the Tiger, the Rabbit, the Dragon, the Snake, the Horse, the Goat, the Monkey, the Rooster, the Dog and the Pig. It is based on a story in which the Buddha summons all the animals on earth and only these 12 animals are presented.

The Zodiac according to the Mayan culture

The Mayan calendar contemplated cycles of 20 solar days, each associated with a symbol. However, some names associated with the constellations of the Zodiac are also identified. There are various interpretations of the assigned icons and names. One of them would contemplate these zodiacal signs: the Tortoise, the Bat, the Snake, the Jaguar, the Scorpion, the Deer, the Owl, the Peacock, the Monkey, the Dog, the Hare, the Hawk and the Lizard.

The Zodiac according to Aztec culture

The signs of the Zodiac of the Aztec culture seem to be based on the Mayan and, likewise, they are subject to various interpretations. One of them would include the following signs: the Cayman, the House, the Snake, the Roe deer, the Rabbit, the Dog, the Monkey, the Reed, the Jaguar, the Eagle, the Flint and the Flower.

Tags:  Science Religion-And-Spirituality Expressions-Popular